Welcoming visitors to the Castle since 1959
One of the many lavish rooms inside the castle
Powderham Castle lies in a beautiful deer park on the banks of the River Exe, just a stone's throw from the historic cathedral city of Exeter. The Castle was first opened to visitors in 1959, since then in excess of a million people have been through the doors to share in over 600 years of history and heritage and take away many fond memories.
Having survived a great deal of damage during the Civil War, the Castle was restored and altered in later centuries. These days, visitors can marvel at the breathtaking medieval grand staircase and the stunning eighteenth century music room. The original Victorian Kitchen is available for visitors to have a glimpse of life below stairs in the Earl's household and appreciate how the 19th century kitchen would have been run.
You can read more about the Castle & Estate and its 600 years of history on the History section of our website.
Very little of the Castle itself has changed since those early days, but there are now many more attractions in the grounds for visitors of all ages to enjoy. This year we expect to welcome back visitors, along with many new ones, to enjoy a wonderful enchanting day out at one of the loveliest places in Devon.
Every year we host events that support a number of different charities and we also have a couple of charities we ask our visitors to support if they wish to. Our chosen charities for the 2012 season is Devon in Sight, supporting visually impaired people of all ages.